Unity 4.6 UI Build Error

Announcements, support questions, and discussion for the Dialogue System.
ashblue
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2015 3:21 am

Unity 4.6 UI Build Error

Post by ashblue »

After building my game and playing it to the point of a conversation, I'm getting this really weird Dialogue System crash. I'm using 4.6's UI and this error doesn't occur when playing the game through Unity's editor. Any clues on how to fix this?



https://lh5.googleusercontent.com/-1fI5 ... apture.PNG
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 20989
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Unity 4.6 UI Build Error

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,



I added some extra error checking in patch 1.4.4c, which is available on the customer download site. If you need access, please email me at tony (at) pixelcrushers.com. It won't fix the issue, but it might log information that will shed light on it.



Does the game work if you use the example UI? I'm trying to determine if it's a configuration issue with your UI or a bug in the Dialogue System's Unity UI support scripts. When I run a build with the example UI, it works fine, but of course the rest of the game (triggers, actors, database, etc.) isn't the same as yours, so it's not an apples-to-apples comparison.
ashblue
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2015 3:21 am

Unity 4.6 UI Build Error

Post by ashblue »

Right before I talk to characters I'm getting this weird warning about "Sequencer command component not found." I'm wondering if that's the source of the issue (see screenshot for details with error log). I have no clue how to fix this warning and I don't use the sequencer at all, as I use Cinema Director because of the complex 2D animated style of our game.



https://dl-web.dropbox.com/get/Screensh ... Rm0oGPYf1A
ashblue
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2015 3:21 am

Unity 4.6 UI Build Error

Post by ashblue »

Game seems to work fine with the example UI. I think its configuration related. I will give that package a run and see what it pumps out sometime later today.
ashblue
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2015 3:21 am

Unity 4.6 UI Build Error

Post by ashblue »

Looks like I spoke too soon again, I have no clue where the customer download is. I bought my copy through the Unity Asset Store and have an invoice #. So I'm not too sure how to get to that link for the build.
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 20989
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Unity 4.6 UI Build Error

Post by Tony Li »

Sounds good. If it doesn't shed any light on the issue, please post the text of the error here, or repost the screenshot. Dropbox is showing a 403 error on your previous image link.
ashblue
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2015 3:21 am

Unity 4.6 UI Build Error

Post by ashblue »

Odd, give this these links a try https://www.dropbox.com/s/tqn7udba3z76h ... .46.27.png and https://www.dropbox.com/s/sb9bypg8as1cm ... .12.06.png



Links won't load in the forum oddly, looks like you have to manually put them in your browser address :/ Should work after that.



EDIT: Some slightly more verbose output https://www.dropbox.com/s/pg7o9m7w1tjyk ... .19.25.png
ashblue
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2015 3:21 am

Unity 4.6 UI Build Error

Post by ashblue »

Looks like I posted the wrong link to my UI component (posted the example one). Sorry for 1,000,000 posts again https://www.dropbox.com/s/fqslpbkresilo ... 1.png?dl=0 (edit button isn't working to allow more than 1x edit).
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 20989
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Unity 4.6 UI Build Error

Post by Tony Li »

With Unity UI, your dialogue UI has to be in the scene. You can't assign a prefab. Could this be the issue in your project?



If that doesn't help, try assigning something to Response Menu > Panel. It's not supposed to be required, but if this stops the build error, I'll issue a fix. Feel free to email an example scene to tony (at) pixelcrushers.com. I'll be happy to take a look.



Regarding the "SequencerCommandNone()" error, on the Dialogue Manager GameObject is Camera Settings > Display Settings > Camera Settings > Disable Internal Sequencer Commands ticked? The "None()" sequencer command is an internal sequencer command. The easy fix is to untick this checkbox. If you intentionally disabled internal sequencer commands and if this only happens at the beginning of the conversation, you can ignore the warning. (If the START node's Sequence is blank, it defaults to "None()".)



On the Unity forums, I just PM'ed you download information for the patch. If you don't see it, please email tony (at) pixelcrushers.com.



(Sorry about the forum issues. Migrating to phpBB is on my "to do" list.)
ashblue
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2015 3:21 am

Unity 4.6 UI Build Error

Post by ashblue »

I figured it out. I was generating my Dialogue System Manager off of a prefab. Which then generated the UI's Canvas off of another prefab. This was to keep it as an editable separate component. But for some odd reason it really didn't like this when building. I made the UI Canvas a child of my Dialogue System Manager instead of dynamically generating it. Everything appears to be working fine. Thank you so much for the help ^_^
Post Reply