Subtitle node is START?

Announcements, support questions, and discussion for the Dialogue System.
Post Reply
eonyanov
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2022 1:54 pm

Subtitle node is START?

Post by eonyanov »

Hello, I'm trying rework my response menu.
In ShowResponses method I get a subtitle param.
But subtitle.dialogueEntry is START node. I expected this to be the parent node for responses.
Show screenshot below.
Attachments
Screenshot 2024-05-23 124849.jpg
Screenshot 2024-05-23 124849.jpg (53.75 KiB) Viewed 481 times
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 20990
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Subtitle node is START?

Post by Tony Li »

The parent node for responses should be the "<>" node. How are you reworking your response menu? Are you using any DS special methods?
eonyanov
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2022 1:54 pm

Re: Subtitle node is START?

Post by eonyanov »

Tony Li wrote: Thu May 23, 2024 10:57 am The parent node for responses should be the "<>" node. How are you reworking your response menu? Are you using any DS special methods?
I created my class by inheriting from StandardUIMenuPanel and override method ShowResponses.

Code: Select all

 public override void ShowResponses(Subtitle subtitle, Response[] responses, Transform target)
{
            base.ShowResponses(subtitle, responses, target);
            ....
}
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 20990
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Subtitle node is START?

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

I think what you're seeing is the "<>" subtitle. Here's an example scene:

DS_TestEonyanov_2024-05-23.unitypackage

It prints the dialogue entry ID along with the subtitle text. It confirms that ShowResponses() receives the "<>" subtitle entry.
eonyanov
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2022 1:54 pm

Re: Subtitle node is START?

Post by eonyanov »

Tony Li wrote: Thu May 23, 2024 4:54 pm Hi,

I think what you're seeing is the "<>" subtitle. Here's an example scene:

DS_TestEonyanov_2024-05-23.unitypackage

It prints the dialogue entry ID along with the subtitle text. It confirms that ShowResponses() receives the "<>" subtitle entry.
Thanks for an example.
It's strange, but in your scene I get the correct logs even on my database.
I'm trying to understand what the difference is between the default DialogueManager prefab and ours. Maybe some of our scripts have some effect.
Here is logs on our scene with your database:
Screenshot 2024-05-24 122156.jpg
Screenshot 2024-05-24 122156.jpg (13.75 KiB) Viewed 427 times
Do you have any ideas where else to look?
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 20990
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Subtitle node is START?

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

Does your <START> entry have a link directly to the responses?

Can you send a reproduction project to tony (at) pixelcrushers.com?
eonyanov
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2022 1:54 pm

Re: Subtitle node is START?

Post by eonyanov »

Hi,
No, <START> doesn't have a link directly to the responses.
Screenshot 2024-05-27 134931.jpg
Screenshot 2024-05-27 134931.jpg (214.22 KiB) Viewed 389 times
And, as I wrote above, in your example everything is fine with my database.
I'll try to create a reproduction project to send to you.
eonyanov
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2022 1:54 pm

Re: Subtitle node is START?

Post by eonyanov »

I found an issue. There was a problem in our Voiceover script. It continued the conversion if was an empty text in subtitle when received OnConversationLine event.
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 20990
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Subtitle node is START?

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

Was that the root cause? Is it working now?
eonyanov
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2022 1:54 pm

Re: Subtitle node is START?

Post by eonyanov »

Tony Li wrote: Mon May 27, 2024 9:04 am Hi,

Was that the root cause? Is it working now?
Yes, now it's working as expected.
Post Reply