Save Scale

Announcements, support questions, and discussion for Save System for Opsive Character Controllers.
Fearinhell

Save Scale

Post by Fearinhell »

I am just starting to learn how saving works and am using UCC Saver script with several game objects being saved active/inactive. What I am missing is the ability to save the scale of the character. My game starts with .9 and can end with any size. How can I get this save system to work? I was looking at the custom saver but I need more example code for this. Thanks
Tony Li

Re: Save Scale

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

You could save it like this:

ScaleSaver.cs

Code: Select all

using UnityEngine;
using PixelCrushers;
public class ScaleSaver : Saver
{
    public override string RecordData()
    {
        // Assume X, Y, and Z are all scaled to the same value. Return that value as a string:
        return transform.localScale.x.ToString();
    }

public override void ApplyData(string s)
    {
        if (string.IsNullOrEmpty(s)) return; // If we didn't receive any save data, exit immediately.
        float scale;
        if (float.TryParse(s, out scale))
        {
            transform.localScale = new Vector3(scale, scale, scale);
        }
    }
}
More info (for other readers): How To: Write Custom Savers
Fearinhell

Post by Fearinhell »

Thanks Tony!
So I take this code and make a script file and attach it to the player or object I need the scale saved? Does the dialogue system automatically save it then when I run the save system? Does it search for record data string in the code? And yes the scaling stays the same between xyz.

Ok I see that I get a warning that the GameObject has more than one saver component. Can I just add this to the UCCSaver code then?

Would changing the return s close to line 240 in the UCCSaver script to
return s + transform.localScale.x.ToString();
work? Im not for sure if it can return two variables like this?
Tony Li

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,