Deeds impacting Personality Traits

Announcements, support questions, and discussion for Love/Hate.
MLGAvalon

Deeds impacting Personality Traits

Post by MLGAvalon »

Hey folks!

I'm very new to C#, completely new at Lua, and in way over my head. 😅 I'm using Dialogue System & Love/Hate for an adventure game I'm building for some clients. They fortunately know my programming competence level.

Anywho, my goal is to have a meter reflect a personality trait on the character's status bar, that shows the incremental changes when deeds are done. I created the personality trait, and the code in the UI that pulls from the Traits script and updates the slider. What I'm having trouble with is having a Deed make any impact at all.

My goal: in Dialogue System, once a certain node in a conversation is reached, it impacts this trait by +5. I've tried Deed reporting with Impressionability turned up to 100%, I've tried Lua code to try and brute force get & set trait. I'm spinning in circles here. Is there a tutorial or code reference I'm missing?

Thanks friends.
-MLG
Tony Li

Re: Deeds impacting Personality Traits

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

Here's an example scene:

LH_DS_PersonalityExample_2021-06-25.unitypackage

It looks like this:

lhDSExample.png
lhDSExample.png (5.77 KiB) Viewed 3550 times

The scene has two characters/factions: Player and NPC. The faction database has a single personality trait: Virtue.

The NPC has a script that manages the text in the upper left.

If you click the Donate or Steal buttons, they'll make the Player's DeedReporter report a deed to the NPC. The NPC is kind of a blank slate with good affinity to the Player, so anything the Player does will strengthen affinity.